Being In The Middle Of The Sandwich

sandwich

The other night as I drove my oldest daughter to meet her boyfriend for a “date”. I had the startling realization, I have begun a new chapter in my life.  Just this week I got news from that one of my dad’s routine medical test results warrants a closer look.  This has weighted heavy on my mind.  I am trying not worry, as it could be nothing at all.  I have always been so grateful that my parents at age 68 have been in relatively good health and remain so very active.  As a matter of fact, my dad still works out most days lifting weights and doing like cardio.  My parents still live in the house I grew up in and take care of nearly eighth acres of land, with includes a rather large garden. As I watch friends parents pass away, I am so grateful mine are doing well.  In the back of my mind, I always knew one day that would have to come to an end.  But I tried never to focus on it, because for the moment all was well.  So with news of a questionable test result it got my mind racing.

I started thinking of all the practical issues.  All the issues that go alone with parents that are aging.  After all my own parents taught me how you care for parents as they age.  My own grandmothers were cared for well by my parents.  Along with all that, the most troubling realization was my parents will not be around forever.  At age 44, I still count on my parents like I did when I was ten.  I can’t imagine life without them. 

So as I happily drove my daughter to yet another one of her firsts in life, I realized I have finally reached the age of being sandwiched in the middle of two generations.  I am caring for my growing children and find myself more concerned with how my parents are doing.  And if you are lucky, you do make it to being in the middle of two generations. It means you have the privilege of caring for your parents. Some of my friends will never experience that, because they have said good-bye already.

3 thoughts on “Being In The Middle Of The Sandwich

Leave a Reply

