Clean Eating For The Whole Family

Easy Oatmeal Protein Bars. Sugar free, and gluten free

I have always taught my kids to eat healthy.  From birth they only had all naturals, organics, not nitrates or growth hormones in their foods.  Ok, that would only be true at home.  Like all kids they developed a taste for all the junkie food we all love so much.  I always promised I would not control my girls’ food selections, only offer guidance to make smart choices.  I have to admit, as they are getting older it was harder and harder to convince them to make choices that were clean and healthy.

Last week, I noticed a curious thing.  My oldest child was eating my brown rice and chicken breasts I had stored in the refrigerator.  She even added some vegetables to her plate.  I thought I was dreaming.  Could this be true? My child that would order a grilled cheese and mashed potatoes for lunch at a local restaurant is eating my healthy food.  I questioned her and she just really couldn’t give me an answer why she decide to eat clean. It might have started when she switched to  oatmeal every morning after she was complaining about being hungry at school before lunch time.  It could be she is 13 and become aware of her body.  It could be that she has a very health aware and fit boyfriend.  I really have no idea and I am not pushing for an answer.  I am just delighted she asked me for a protein shake last week. 

Apparently, monkey see, monkey do, because my youngest daughter jumped right on board.   As I made the grocery list for this week, I asked them should I buy clean diet foods.  They both said yes.  My youngest asked for no more frozen pizzas, no more hot dogs or chips.  I happily packed them into my family bus and made my way to Costco.  We to buy 48 chicken breasts for the week along with tons of veggies and oatmeal.

Now, I am not advocating a leaning out diet for my growing girls.  However my girls are athletes, and I am promoting complex carbs, lean protein and healthy fats.  We are figuring out fun recipes for our new diet, like protein oatmeal bars. It is a simple recipe found at this site, http://www.oxygenmag.com/Community/Blogs/Oxygens-Staff-Blog/No-Bake-Protein-Bars.aspx.  I just made it with my youngest daughter. It took about 10 minutes to make.  I am roasting chicken breast for the week.  So when anyone is hungry you can just reach in the refrigerator for a healthy selection. 

I can’t tell you how excited I am.  It took all my might sometimes not to preach to my girls.  I simply kept leading by example.  The bonus is my girls will be fueling their bodies best for soccer season, and learning early in life that healthy eat leads to a healthy life.  I will keep you posted as we start this new jou

2 thoughts on “Clean Eating For The Whole Family

Leave a Reply

