The Women Had a Gun. That’s Why I Listened!

mom

How I Became A Heath and Fitness Nut

 

My mother in law, God rest her soul, carried a gun and she knew how to use it.  She also had more love for me and my husband than any one person could have. She died at the age fo 47 of cancer.  Before she left us, she taught me all I needed to know to keep my family healthy and safe.

At age 22, I thought some of the stuff my mother in law told me was a bit crazy, to say the least.  It turns out what she was telling me about our food industry, drug industry and health system is true.  Over 20 years ago, she told me to eat natural, take supplements, and beware of our healthcare industry. There is money to be made in sick people.  Unfortunately, Mama Michelle, as my children know her today, did not win her battle with cancer.  But she did leave a legacy of healthy eating and natural living that will be passed from generation to generation.

After her death,  my husband and I committed to natural and organic eating.  In those days, we had to drive 45 minutes to get organic foods.  The only grocery store that carried organics was a tiny Wild Oats store, now Whole Foods, near the Ohio State University campus.  For nearly ten years, we made the weekly journey for our food.  You may think how lucky we are to have an endless budget to afford such food.  The truth is we do not have an endless budget for such things.  But no matter what our money situation was, we have had tight financial times over the years, we always made eating clean a priority.  We figured out a long time ago it is cheaper to eat clean than later to pay for medical bills. 

As the years went on, slowly our local grocery stores started carrying all natural and organic selections.  We are now blessed with a store, that carries their own brand of naturals, organics, and gluten free  products that are very affordable.   It has certainly gotten easier to live this lifestyle.  I do find with careful planning I can get naturals and organics at great prices. 

As for what Mama Michelle, with her crazy thought and conspiracy theories,  over 20 years later, she doesn’t seem so crazy.  Most of the things she shared with me are coming to light.  I read all the time of the hazards found in our food.  I have learned there are many natural ways to  heal an illness before taking prescription medicines. She wasn’t off saying the goverment allows harmful chemicals to be in our foods.  We are exposed to chemicals that are outlawed in other parts of the world. 

Did mom have a crystal ball?  I really don’t know.  I am just glad I took the approach to be safe rather than sorry.  We are ahead of the game.  My husband and I are entering into middle age, with clean bills of health.  My husband is 45, only two years younger than mom when she left us.  It seems unbelievable we lost her at such an early age.  We still miss her greatly. However in the seven years I knew her she gave me more than a life time of love and wisdom.  She is with us every day.  We speak to our daughters, who never met her, as if she still is alive.  We talk in terms of we do some stuff, because Mama Michelle taught us to do this.  From time to time, I find myself thinking, what would mom say about this?  There are times I even hear her whisphering in my hear.  I say, “I know!” and roll my eyes.  Our youngest daughter is named after my mother-in-law, Anna Michelle acts just like her grandmother, Michelle Ann.  She acts just like her right down to the gun.  Recently, she wanted a bebe gun to protect herself!  

So when I am preaching from the mountain top about healthy lifestyle choices, eating cleaning and exercising you know why.  Damnit, she has a gun! You listen to a woman with a gun. 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

