Friendship Of A Life Time: Why Would Anything Be Different Today?

lucyandethel3Lucy and ethelI frantically rushed out the door at 8:00 AM heading to the hospital. Not sure where I was meeting Susan, I sent her a text. I told her I was on my way. She replied laughing that her appointment was at 8:30. So I quietly sat for 25 minutes in the hospital parking lot. I enjoyed the quiet time. I would rather be early than late.

She and I are used to doing this sort of thing. Many years ago, my house was on a women’s group home tour. One week before the scheduled tour, I was painting the kitchen door. Just putting some final touches on the house before the big day when Susan showed up. She had a cool drink in her hand. Of course, I was dressed for cleaning and painting. We chatted for about 30 minutes before she asked me if I was going to change my clothes before the tour. We laughed uncontrollably when she realized that she was an entire week early for the house tour. So me being 30 minutes early for her appointment is about right for this “Lucy and Ethel” team of friends.

At 8:00 I walked into the lobby of the hospital. It is where we agreed to meet. I waited a few minutes when I saw her running in the door. She had a giant smile on her face and began laughing as she said her designer flip-flops broke on the way out the door. Only after we were settled into the waiting room did she reveal she had already super glued them once. I simply looked at her and laughed. As the story goes, they were very exclusive designer shoes that she found at a thrift store for pennies on the dollar. She has many such finds. I have never seen a woman more glammed up with designer thrift finds. I asked why when I got to the thrift store I only see old men’s used underwear neatly displayed on hangers, but she finds exclusive designer shoes and handbags. She stalks the store. It all makes sense to me.

This whole conversation takes place as we wait for an appointment with the surgeon that will perform her biopsy next week. You would think that after the seriousness of the situation we would discuss more important topics. The thing is this is exactly how we are. We are still laughing, still talking about bargain shopping and still being us. I would like to say that we have matured after the 27 years of friendship, but I would be lying if I did. Truthfully, I am glad we haven’t. Life is way too serious. If we can still laugh in the face of the most serious situation to date we are truly blessed.

Leave a Reply

